Genealogy News

I thought I would try a bit harder to keep up to date with what’s happening in the genealogy world outside my own blog. So in an effort to do this I just did a simple “genealogy news” search on Google.

One of the first hits I got was blog by Amy Johnson Crow asking the question Is Genealogy Blogging Dead? This is certainly an interesting read and looks at blogging alongside the rise of social media platforms like Facebook.

I have to say I haven’t yet embraced or more accurately combined my blogging with social media. True, I do share my regular blogs on my personal Facebook page but these are lost among the many other posts that appear there.

One blog I read that has recently undergone a makeover is My Descendants Ancestors  and I know that Elizabeth, who owns the blog, also has a dedicated Facebook page and Twitter page. And I’m sure that must help with her blog’s profile and traffic.

Seeing what Elizabeth does has inspired me to try to get to grips a bit more and see what I can do to improve the traffic to my blog. I generally just blog about my own family and my wife’s family – so perhaps my audience is not that great anyway. However I have made connections from distant family members who have discovered my blog and are now “followers”.

I blog because I want to record and tell my family stories – I’m doing it for me and if others find it interesting that’s just great.

Here are some other bits of genealogy news that you might find interesting:-

Ancestry.com denies exploiting users DNA – BBC News

Abandoned baby finds family after 60 years – BBC News

Hero’s First World War medal reunited with family…99 years after his death – Dorset Echo

Leave a Reply

