Day: April 9, 2011

Clitheroe – Postcard #4

This is a postcard of the Market Place in Clitheroe, Lancashire.

The postcard is unused and I think dates from around 1950. It is published by F Frith & Co of Reigate.

I got the card simply because Clitheroe is an important location in my ancestral heritage, especially on my maternal side of the family. There is also a good possibility that my Dawson line can be traced back there sometime in the mid 1700′s.

The postcard shows a group of people in the bottom left standing outside the offices of  the Clitheroe Advertiser & Times newspaper. My mother tells me that there is a bus stop there.

Interestingly there are no road markings visible – either down the middle of the main road or at the junctions. There is a pedestrian crossing just behind the truck in the centre of the card. You can see the Belisha beacons at either side of the road. When pedestrian crossings were first introduced they were marked by large metal studs in the road surface. These crossings were later painted in black and white stripes, thus are known as zebra crossings.

At the top you can just see Clitheroe castle behind the trees. I am on the look out for a postcard of the castle and then this might appear in another blog post.

On this day…..9th April

1654 … James Hurtley was born in Kirkby Malhamdale, North Yorkshire.  He was my 6x great grandfather

1772 … Ann Wigglesworth was born in Dewsbury, West Yorkshire.  She was the great grandmother of the husband of my 3rd cousin 2x removed

1896 … Alice Maud Hardcastle was born in Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire.  She was the sister in law of my 4th cousin 1x removed

2008 … my dad Graham Dawson died in Leeds, West Yorkshire