Day: January 18, 2012

Wedding Wednesday – Who’s that girl?

This is a photograph from my own collection.  I have to admit up front that I don’t know the happy couple.  Well, what I mean is that I know who the groom is but I never met either him or the bride (as far as I know) and I am not related to them.

The photograph is in one of those little fold over covers that you get from photographers.  There is a description on the cover written by my dad – it says

‘Harold Crossland’s wedding.  Dad’s best friend from Rotherham’

The ‘dad’ referred to in the description is my granddad – Joseph Dawson.  He is the chap second from the left – I am guessing that he was ‘best man’.

So I did a search on Find My Past and came up with a couple of possibilities.

There is a marriage in the December quarter of 1943 between Harold Crossland and Marian Jenkinson  in the Rother Valley registration district.

There is also a marriage in the June quarter of 1947 between Harold Crossland and Marian Smith in the Sheffield registration district.

For those who don’t know the area Rotherham and Sheffield are not a million miles apart.  I know that my grandparents lived in Brinsworth (part of Rotherham) for a while and I guess that this is where Joseph made friends with Harold.

Of course the wedding could have been held somewhere else completely and I am way off the mark.

My granddad was born in 1903, so, if I am right then he would be either 40 or 44 when these photographs were taken.  I am really bad at trying to estimate ages – what do you think?

Are there any clues from the style of clothes?

Leave a comment if you think you can help.