Day: June 29, 2011

Wedding Wednesday – Thomas Turner & Mary Jane Carradice

My 2x great grandparents married today 139 years ago.

Thomas Turner was born in Kendal, Westmorland about 1847 although I haven’t yet been able to find a definite record of his birth.

Mary Jane Carradice was born on 8th November 1854 also in Kendal.

They married on 29th June 1872 at Kendal Register Office.  The witnesses were Miles Barry Harker and Hannah Harker.

I had never come across the name Harker before in my family tree.  So while preparing this post I decided to see if I could find any connection between Miles and Hannah and Thomas and Mary Jane.

The only link I have been able to establish is that all four appear on the same page of the marriage register – which clearly suggests to me that they were married on the same day at Kendal Register Office.

Presumably Miles Barry Harker and Hannah Fisher tied the knot first given the witness names on Thomas and Mary Jane’s marriage certificate.  I wonder if Thomas and Mary Jane performed the role of witnesses for Miles and Hannah.  Maybe they were all friends or perhaps this was the first time they had even met.

The lack of family witnesses has me thinking that perhaps Thomas and Mary Jane married without their families consent – or am I reading too much into this.  I guess that I will never know.

Whatever the circumstances of their marriage they went on to have at least ten children:-

  • Elizabeth Ann – 31st May 1873 (my great grandmother)
  • John – c1877
  • Thomas and William – 27 August 1878 (William died the same day and Thomas ten days later)
  • Ellen – 10th November 1879
  • Mary Jane – 8th January 1882
  • Alexander – 27th November 1884
  • Isabella – 24th February 1887
  • James – c1892
  • Ivy – c1897

Over the years the family migrated south to Clitheroe in Lancashire.

Thomas died on 7th December 1916 and Mary Jane on 18th April 1917.

On this day … 29th June

1872 … Mary Jane Carradice and Thomas Turner married at Kendal Register Office in Westmorland.  They are my 2x great grandparents.

1897 … Mary Ellen Gawthrop (nee Snowden) died in Burnley, Lancashire.  She is the wife of my 1st cousin 3x removed.