Day: June 25, 2011

Espley One Name Study – Update #7

We had intended to go to the Yorkshire Family History Fair in York today.  But best laid plans and all that – the weather wasn’t very good and I was full of aches and pains and couldn’t face it.

So we stayed at home.  But I didn’t want to waste the day altogether.  I decided to crack on with more work on my Espley One Name Study.

I was already part way through transcribing the 1891 UK census into my spreadsheet, so my target was to get that completed by the end of today.  I am happy to say that I finished at 4.20pm – having started at about 10.30 this morning.  I am now settled down watching Glastonbury on the telly.

Tomorrow I hope to set up the next spreadsheet for the 1901 census and maybe get that transcribed in the next four or five weeks.

As I am not a subscriber to Find My Past I will wait until Ancestry get the 1911 census digitised before starting on that.

So maybe after finishing the 1901 census I will start to track individuals from birth through to death and build some family trees.  That’s the bit I am really looking forward to.

Surname Saturday – Buckley

There are 54 Buckley’s so far in my tree.  The earliest is my 3x great grandfather, Thomas Buckley.

According to surnamedb Buckley is of Anglo-Saxon origin.  It is said to be a locational name from a number of places such as Buckleigh in Abbotsham (Devon), Buckley Heath in Sussex and Buckley Green in Warwickshire.

Most of the place names derive from the Olde English pre 7th century “bucc(a), meaning a he-goat, plus “leah” – a clearing or wood.

In Ireland the surname is said to be found as an Anglicised form of the Gaelic “O’Buachalla” – a byname meaning cowherd or servant.

The name is believed to be first recorded in the early half of the 13th century and include William de Bockeleye in the Subsidy Rolls of Warwickshire in 1332.  Also John Buckley in the 1545 Subsidy Rolls of Wiltshire.

These days there are many variant spellings of the surname such as Bucklee and Buckleigh.

Among the earliest namebearers to settle in the New World Colonies were Ben Buckley (aged 11years) and Daniell Buckley (aged 9 years), who left the port of London bound for New England in April 1635 aboard the “Suzan and Ellin”

The first recorded spelling of the family name is said to be Alan de Buckeleg which is dated 1235 in the Feet of Fines of Warwickshire.