Day: April 22, 2011

52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History – Restaurants

This is the 16th challenge in a weekly series from GeneaBloggers called 52 weeks of personal genealogy and  history, suggested  by Amy Coffin,  that invite genealogists to record memories and insights about their own lives for future descendants.  Week 16 – Restaurants.

This is going to be a short post.

I don’t have any recollection of going to restaurants in my childhood. It was just something that we didn’t do in our family.

A regular and favourite meal however was fish and chips from the local chippie – it was called Berts. Take out fish and chips wrapped in newspaper – wonderful.

When I was in my teens and out in Leeds with my mates we would often eat at a Wimpy bar and we thought we were really cool!!

I didn’t start going out to restaurants until I was much more grown up!!