Day: March 16, 2011

Almost A-Z of Ancestor Occupations

When I was at a bit of a loose end over the weekend I thought I would have a trawl through my database and see if I could come up with a recorded occupation for all letters of the alphabet.

I realised pretty quickly that unless I had someone who worked in a zoo or made / played the xylophone I would come up short.  Anyway in the end I was left with X, Y and Z.  I thought I must be able to get something for Y – especially coming from Yorkshire, but no luck.

Here’s my list with some examples from the census returns.  CAN YOU DO ANY BETTER?  Let me know.

   
A Agricultural Labourer; Asylum Attendant
B Blacksmith; Butcher; Builder; Baker
C Crofter; Carter; Coal Dealer; Collier
D Domestic Servant; Dressmaker
E Engine Tenter; Earthenware Painter
F Fence Waller; Farmer; Farm Labourer; Forge Man
G General Labourer; Gardener; Grocer
H Housekeeper; Hawker; Hatter
I Inn Keeper; Iron Worker
J Journeyman Tailor; Jobbing Smith
K Kitchen Maid
L Linsey Weaver; Limeburner
M Miner; Mangler: Marine Fitter
N Nail Maker; Nurse; National Benefit Trust Agent
O Overlooker
P Power Loom Weaver (Worsted); Paper Maker; Potter; Preacher
Q Quarryman
R Rag Gatherer; Railway Plate Layer
S Stone Waller; Sawyer; Servant; Shoe Maker; Shepherd
T Tollgate Keeper; Tailor; Tobacconist
U Under Gardener
V Victualler
W Warpdresser; Washerwoman: Wagon Fitter
X  
Y  
Z