Day: March 3, 2011

52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History – Sounds

This is the ninth challenge in a weekly series from GeneaBloggers called 52 weeks of personal genealogy and  history, suggested  by Amy Coffin,  that invite genealogists to record memories and insights about their own lives for future descendants.  Week 9 – Sounds

I have always been awake early for as long as I can remember.  My dad worked shifts and I recall lying awake after the alarm clock had sounded and shouting from my bedroom to make sure he got up and off to work on time.  So the sound of a ringing alarm clock brings back good memories.

When I was old enough I got a paper round – first delivering evening papers then eventually doing mornings, evenings and Sundays.  I used to share the early hours with the milk man making his rounds.  In those days in the mid 1960’s the local milk man had a hand pulled cart stacked with milk crates and you could hear the milk bottles rattle and clink as the cart was pulled along the cobbled streets of Leeds.

The local park where we spent many an hour playing football was next to a railway track and I can remember the sound of the steam trains chugging and whistling as they headed to or from Leeds railway station.  I used to watch them and wonder if my granddad was driving or stoking the engine.

Another long lost sound is that of the rag-and-bone man walking the streets with his horse and cart.  They always seemed to shout out in some really incoherent way but basically they were calling something like “any rag and bones”.